Newbie here

Started by Illfigure, February 23, 2024, 03:07:10

Previous topic - Next topic

Illfigure

Hi, I'm a new guy here, and I'm interested in becoming an OpenMPT artist, but I don't really know where to start. 

little info about myself, I'm Illfigure. I'm from Indonesia and am an introvert who enjoys wasting precious time listening to music (ex: stuff like Venetian Snares, Terminal 11, and Bogdan Raczynski) and other not very productive activities. I'm in the late stages of high school and will continue to college (if I pass). not a very disciplined person. I'm honestly easily discouraged when hearing of other people who are younger and more skilled than me, and it's also hard to commit to doing things I want to do. I suppose i should really work more on doing things i like for myself.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkmWKVX5Cdc <--this video is what introduced me to this software. Because it's free, I'm instantly interested.

I want to be a jungle/rave/breakcore artist (though this early on, breakcore is probably impossible for me). My only tool is an ASUS laptop and nothing else, so figuring out notes is hard. I'm hoping to get a midi keyboard when I'm older. So far, I've only played around and made some simple bars using the "breakcore is not a good way to get laid" sample pack and some others (attached below are some examples). I'm not ready to make a full track because I don't know how to properly structure a song. At the very least, I want to make something comprehensible. any help? (Things I Should Know About OpenMPT, Tutorials, Sample Packs, Tricks and Tips, and Plug-Ins, maybe even motivations?) 

Sorry if my English is kind of crap, and I can't really write long and correct paragraphs. 

I hope I can commit to being a tracker artist.
Nice meeting y'all! ;D

Vojvodinosaurus

Here's hoping breakcore becomes more popular than trap...