How long did it take you to master tracker music?

Started by Vojvodinosaurus, February 05, 2024, 09:45:39

Previous topic - Next topic

Vojvodinosaurus

I've been using OpenMPT for a few years now, albeit with a hiatus every now and then, yet i still think i'm probably just an amateur and have a whole lot to learn and master, i mean, i'm still using algoravin autotracker to make breakcore while i can't seem to take advantage of most effects, no matter which file format i choose. Also is it true that it's harder to learn/master trackers when you're not a programmer?
!IMPORTANT!
You are allowed to remix my songs ONLY in TRANCE/GOA/PSYTRANCE GENRE and NO Trap HiHat Rolls PLEASE
My stuff: https://alonetone.com/vojvodinosaurus

Exhale

I have been tracking since i was 13, and i am now 41. And i am still learning / remembering stuff i forgot i had learned, although some effects i use almost all the time because of the kind of tunes i normally make, some i forget exist until i look for them. I have also never been able to grasp programming other than old school html. I admit tracking was first scary to me because it looked like programming, but i already knew music, daws werent an option at the time, and so i got stuck in, learning by observing tracks i and my friends downloaded 'how did they do this effect', going to the pattern... etc. Plus with ompt being changed by our programmers we sometimes add new effects or ways to use them, such as all the effects in the volume column other than volume, those were not an option when i first started.