Author Topic: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings  (Read 1702 times)

Offline arseniiv

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 SP1
1. On Win7 x64, I open the latest (1.27.07) 32-bit OpenMPT, create an MPTM project and add a 32-bit VST there (I have tried several so far). For some reason it is marked as bridged (in the plugin list, in its editor window title, there is PluginBridge32.exe process). Should it be so? (I seem to remember in the past things were different. But since I switched to 64-bit hardware a few years ago, I had rarely used OpenMPT, it could be an error of my memory.) If not, what could I possibly do to repair it? Just in case, the instance of mptrack.exe running is already marked as a 32-bit process.

2. I pick a non-12edo tuning on a plugin-using instrument, to no effect. Should it be that? In this case I also seem to remember in the past something could have been different, and again I can’t be sure.

Thank you in advance. :)
Feel free to correct my English grammar
Music & sounds: [Freesound] [SoundCloud] [Direct links to music on friend’s site]

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,443
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2018, 10:33:08 »
1. On Win7 x64, I open the latest (1.27.07) 32-bit OpenMPT, create an MPTM project and add a 32-bit VST there (I have tried several so far). For some reason it is marked as bridged (in the plugin list, in its editor window title, there is PluginBridge32.exe process). Should it be so? (I seem to remember in the past things were different. But since I switched to 64-bit hardware a few years ago, I had rarely used OpenMPT, it could be an error of my memory.) If not, what could I possibly do to repair it? Just in case, the instance of mptrack.exe running is already marked as a 32-bit process.
There are several possibilities:
1. The advanced setting BridgeAllPlugins is set to 1.
2. You really are running the 64-bit version without realizing it (the About window will tell you)
3. Some plugins are marked to always run in a bridge for various reasons (mostly buggy plugins), in which case the "Use plugin bridge" for that particular plugin is checked in the plugin manager. You can disable this checkbox if you are absolutely sure what you are doing.

Quote
2. I pick a non-12edo tuning on a plugin-using instrument, to no effect. Should it be that? In this case I also seem to remember in the past something could have been different, and again I can’t be sure.
There is no standardized way to apply microtuning to plugins that would be widely supported.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline arseniiv

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 SP1
Re: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2018, 13:10:57 »
Thank you! Yes indeed (and I don’t know why) BridgeAllPlugins was set to 1. Now this is resolved. :D

There is no standardized way to apply microtuning to plugins that would be widely supported.
Ah. Do you know any which is able to support it somehow? (E. g. it could have its own tuning settings.)
Feel free to correct my English grammar
Music & sounds: [Freesound] [SoundCloud] [Direct links to music on friend’s site]

Offline arseniiv

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 SP1
Re: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2018, 13:35:48 »
Quote
and I don’t know why
Now I know. It seems it auto-applies when OpenMPT crashes with plugins.
Feel free to correct my English grammar
Music & sounds: [Freesound] [SoundCloud] [Direct links to music on friend’s site]

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,443
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2018, 13:57:10 »
Ah. Do you know any which is able to support it somehow? (E. g. it could have its own tuning settings.)
A search with your favourite search engine should reveal you some choices. I cannot really comment on which plugins would work well with microtuning.


Quote
and I don’t know why
Now I know. It seems it auto-applies when OpenMPT crashes with plugins.
No, OpenMPT never enables this setting on its own.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline arseniiv

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 SP1
Re: Silly questions about 32-bit plugins and custom tunings
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2018, 14:21:03 »
OK. Then I think the setting was not saved because of a crash, so the next time it was present with its previous value 0.

Essentially, I forgot to click “Save now” buttion. I’ve missed it completely.

UPD: Hope SYN will come and be adopted in the industry soon. As I expected, ways to deal with tunings are proposed there. :)
« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 15:51:48 by arseniiv »
Feel free to correct my English grammar
Music & sounds: [Freesound] [SoundCloud] [Direct links to music on friend’s site]