Sample Frequency Settings (Physics Question)

Started by vantigo, September 17, 2016, 00:16:02

Previous topic - Next topic

vantigo

I'm pretty new to audio, so I'm still trying to understand some basics. I'll probably get some things wrong here. I'd appreciate any corrections or links to places to find more info.

One thing is frequency. Higher frequency means more vibrations per second which means a higher pitched sound. I've seen this illustrated this way:

I've been going through some OpenMPT tutorials and came across instructions to make custom samples. I created a new sample with 16 sample points. I set the Freq. (Hz) to 7040 in order to get an A4 (440hz * 16 samples). I drew a curve and played it. As expected, an external tuning device registered 440hz.

But here is where I get confused. Reasoning that more curves in the same space should make a higher pitched noise, I drew more curves in the same 16 sample points and left the Freq. setting at 7040.

I played the sample and my tuning device registered the same 440hz. Why was the output the same frequency? Isn't this a perfect example of more vibrations per second?

From a technical standpoint, I can understand this. Just be sure to set the Freq. using the desired frequency * number of samples. But I'd love to have a better understanding of just what is going on here, really.

Is OpenMPT doing extra calculations to keep things in tune? Does it have to do with .wav format? I know that Freq. corresponds with a .wav file's bitrate settings. Is it because the sample is so simple in the first place?

Any insight would be appreciated, as would any links to good technical documents on the subject.

Saga Musix

Welcome to the OpenMPT forums.