mixer question

Started by inemuri1985, November 28, 2014, 16:42:23

Previous topic - Next topic

inemuri1985

hi there. i am new to mpt.

when i put an effect in the mixer section, and select it for a certain track some strange things happen. sometimes it works, and other times it doesnt. is this a normal issue or am i doing something wrong.

for example if i have a delay plugin for channel 1 and 2, and not on channel 3-4 etc. what is the proper setting for having the plug active on 1 and 2 ?

if i press master it will be on the entire track.. but i of course want it only for some tracks..

sorry if this is very noob. if someone has time to explain how vst effects work properly would be awesome.

Saga Musix

No worries about your confusion, it's kind of justified. Channel and instrument plugins do not mix very well together, so I would advise you to only assign plugins to instruments. This will avoid a lot of confusion.
In essence, instrument plugins are never routed to channel plugins, unless the plugin's "output to:" plugin happens to be the same as channel plugin of course. Why is that? Well, simply because an instrument plugin's output cannot be "split up". Suppose you have this setup:
- Instrument 1 is assigned to some VSTi
- Channel 1 sends its output to VST effect 1
- Channel 2 sends its output to VST effect 2
Now you trigger a note with instrument 1 on both channel 1 and channel 2. What should happen now? Both notes from channel 1 and 2 are processed inside the VSTi and both end up in its output. Now OpenMPT cannot distinguish between the two notes anymore, i.e. there is no way to send note 1 to effect 1 and note 2 to effect 2. So in this case, the VSTi's output is sent directly to the master, and not to one of the channel plugins.
As mentioned before, my advice would be to directly assign all plugins to instruments, and never to channels.