How do you get your tunes down?

Started by MT, February 18, 2006, 10:50:23

Previous topic - Next topic

MT

As a newbie I'm interested in how other people go about getting the music in their heads into a finished product in MPT.  I've read posts here that say 'I made this last night' and the song they're talking about is full-length and finished, and I'm like '...holy shit'.  I'm curious about the different ways people get their tunes, how they get them into a tracker, and how they elaborate on them.

Me, I can sit down with the program and try to come up with a basic tune, but usually that doesn't work out.  Sometimes I can come up with stuff just walking around the house doing nothing in particular, so then I turn on my computer mic and hum the tune into it so I can try to use it later.  That way I don't have to worry about forgetting it.  It's also handy because I'm not quick enough to get it into Modplug without losing it yet.  The AC cable for my keyboard would be handier though I imagine.

But I find I come up with my 'best' music in the twilight zone between being awake and being asleep.  Music seems to just come into my head fully-formed, it's something to do with brain frequencies I think.  I have no way of recording these in my bed in the middle of the night though so that's kind of a nuisance.  Maybe I should get a cheap tape recorder or something.

What about you guys, how do you come up with your music?

apple-joe

I haven't composed many traditional songs, however; I have created several 'full-length' musical pieces during seperated evenings. I am not 'The Master' of tracking, but I am actually able to 'get it down' quite quickly some days.

I learnt the features of Modplug before I got any useful knowledge on music. Then I learnt playing guitar, and then I learnt music theory.