[discussion] Parents, children and sound music

Started by Louigi Verona, August 17, 2009, 06:51:23

Previous topic - Next topic

Louigi Verona

Okay, so I want to share a situation that I have faced several times already. Perhaps some of you have had a similar experience and we can share insights into this.

Each time I visit my parents or we meet or they come to my house, I of course love to tell them what work I am engaged in, tell them about music or software or things I've done. And almost always I have had not much support from them. Each time they either do not understand the intentions (for instance, my parents strongly oppose free software and no matter how many times I've explained they still think it means gratis) or interpret them in a very unusual fashion.

One of the main topics of argument is my music. Specifically, my dad does not like any of the sound music I do and tells me to not call myself a composer because I am not one. He says that I am a sound engineer and that what I do is not creative at all and anyone can do that. His reaction to me showing him the random play function of Tape Loops was very heated and he said that anyone can do such music and that it is not creativity at all and more over - it is not music at all. Any my attempts to speak to him about sound music and note based music have failed to reach him.

I was wondering about these things:

1. Do you care whether your parents support you in what you do? Even if they do not understand what it's all about?

2. How would you address the creativity issue of sound music? What, in your opinion, is it closer to - artistic expression or just sound engineering?

My own opinion on the second is this: either broaden the definition of music or else indeed call it something else - like Brian Eno suggests, music painting.