Author Topic: .48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules  (Read 6874 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,702
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« on: July 02, 2007, 12:53:40 »
Full Version:
OpenMPT v1.17.02.48

Has the bug occured in previous versions? If yes, please specify version(s): (This option is optional, and doesn't need research. But in case you know...)
-Dunno-
Quote from: "älskling"
In 1.17.02.39 it worked correctly, i.e. it prompted for a file name. Haven't tested with other versions.


Description of the bug:
I opened a new module ("Module1"). I added a channel (on general tab) and accidently hit the "save" button. however, no "save as dialog" appered  - the module was saved as "Module1.it" without even asking me! I already had a module called "Module1.it" in this directory, thanx to my Backups, i was able to restore it...


How to reproduce (step by step description):
Open a new module, add a channel and hit "save".
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 23:57:00 »
It was the same situation in previous versions.

I wouldn't call this a bug right away, let alone a big one. It's just a thing to be very alert about. It happened to me too once in a while.

1) as soon as something is edited, there is an asterisk added to the filename in the top program-bar, as a warning.
2) So I grew the habit to use the File menu for saving instead of the button, unless I was absolutely sure to replace a version.
3) So in that case, it would be annoying to be confronted with "are you sure ?" every time.
4) You can't expect from the 'save' button to bring up a 'save as' dialog, because these are 2 different functions in the file menu.
5) At least, if no save-action is involved, you get an 'save or not ?' dialog when you try to close the file.
6) This situation could be improved, I guess. Now, 'Save' is coupled with Ctrl+S. But 'Save As' doesn't have its own shortcut.
If it would have, maybe it could be more easy to add its own button on the bar as well.
0.618033988

Offline bvanoudtshoorn

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
    • Barryvan
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2007, 11:33:26 »
On a related note, the "A" key in the file menu is tied to "Add Sound Bank", not "Save As", as it is in 99% of all other software... I can't tell you how many times I have hit the [Alt]+[F] [A] key combo and been annoyed... =)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,702
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2007, 12:41:41 »
Quote from: "Sam_Zen"
4) You can't expect from the 'save' button to bring up a 'save as' dialog, because these are 2 different functions in the file menu.

No i can. If a module was never saved before (and was not loaded, of course), both functions HAVE to be the same. Like it's in other software. At least, in such a case...
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline älskling

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 325
Re: (S=O) .48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2007, 15:44:02 »
In 1.17.02.39 it worked correctly, i.e. it prompted for a file name. Haven't tested with other versions.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,062
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Re: (S=O) .48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2007, 16:13:59 »
Quote from: "älskling"
In 1.17.02.39 it worked correctly, i.e. it prompted for a file name. Haven't tested with other versions.


Info added to 1st post. Thanks. :)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline seventhson

  • Inspired artist
  • **
  • Posts: 88
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2007, 20:28:49 »
Quote from: "Sam_Zen"
It was the same situation in previous versions.

I wouldn't call this a bug right away, let alone a big one. It's just a thing to be very alert about. It happened to me too once in a while.



When something happens that isn't supposed to happen inside the program it most definitely is a bug,and when this causes you to lose some very important data (or great ideas) i would call it a big bug and it has happened to me several times as well.

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2007, 01:53:33 »
Sorry guys. I was way off course.
I thought this was about opening an existing module, instead of making a new one. Never noticed this Module1 default.
0.618033988

Offline Relabsoluness

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2007, 15:04:46 »
The problem seemed to be in the song properties dialog - simply opening it and then pressing OK 'sets the table' for overwriting. Please tell if it can be reproduced when not touching the dialog - at least I couldn't. And what comes to earlier versions, it happens at least with RC2.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,702
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2007, 16:25:36 »
allright, that's the bug :) i could reproduce it the way you described it.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,702
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
.48 Big bug: Overwriting existing modules
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2007, 16:24:13 »
Seems to be fixed in .49 test build.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.