Can a non-musician get an honest critiquing about his music?

Started by Uhfgood, September 18, 2006, 23:36:38

Previous topic - Next topic

Uhfgood

My name is Keith, and I have created only one thread in here before.

Essentially i'm not really a musician.  I make games, and because I have no money have to do my own music.  So when I post my songs, will I get an honest crititquing, or am I going to be lambasted for not being a musician?

Secondly, where would I post links to my music to get critiqued by the community? Would it be under Free Music Downloads, or would that be for finished music?

I'm not a musician but i'd like to become a not-too-poor tracker.

Thanks for your time.
Keith

SoundCrafter

Of course. One nice thing about this community is that we're all relatively nice fellas.

Doesn't matter if you're a musician, although by creating music you are *somewhat* of a musician. Go ahead, post your stuff here. Hell, maybe we'll even help you be a better one.

:)
---Formerly known as ---DjBj---. changed names for lots of reasons.
BooT-SectoR-ViruZ is the new Skaven and the whole world'z goin' to Hell.
Lowpass filter! Perform a generic type of dodge!!! :lol:
Everyone should get on this forum's chatroom RIGHT NOW...still not sure why, though.

LPChip

How can someone critic a non-musician's music? I mean... You make music which in my eyes makes you a musician. :)

As for unfinished songs, I'd recommend putting those in General Chatter. When you have a full finished song, you can place it in Free Music Downloads. If you state in your post that you're new, people will keep that in mind when giving you your review. We do want to be honest, but we usually give feedback someone can use. Don't feel offended by it though. It was ment for you to learn from.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis