Curious why choose mod formats over midi?

Started by Uhfgood, September 17, 2006, 22:36:29

Previous topic - Next topic

Uhfgood

Hello my name is Keith Weatherby II.  I enjoy listening to chip music.  I've made a couple of very poor mods for a couple of my old games.  Now I have a question and decided to go ahead and register.  I plan on learning to write chip music for inclusion in one of my future games as i'm a programmer.

Why choose mods over midis?

Okay I know some part of this is obvious.  You can do stuff like use sound bytes, human voices, and the like for samples.  But what about stuff like chip music?  What makes it better to use mod samples to recreate electronic music than using actual electronic sound hardware to recreate it?  Mostly some people that have heard it assume it's midi because it sounds electronicly made instead of digitized.  To me it sounds like mods have more flexibility, and that midi music is more restricted into what instruments you have on your system.

My apologies if this has been asked before.  I've looked through the forums and saw nothing to suggest it has been posted lately here.

Any insights is appreciated.
Keith Weatherby II
aka Uhfgood
Uhfgood -AT- verizon -DOT- net

SoundCrafter

Hello Keith.

You already covered the obvious advantages, mostly how you can use samples rather than system sounds, but it seems to me that you're asking a question which, to me, has a simple answer>

Why not use hardware? Easy. Modplug (and other software) is free, whereas most (legal  :lol: ) hardware is not.
---Formerly known as ---DjBj---. changed names for lots of reasons.
BooT-SectoR-ViruZ is the new Skaven and the whole world'z goin' to Hell.
Lowpass filter! Perform a generic type of dodge!!! :lol:
Everyone should get on this forum's chatroom RIGHT NOW...still not sure why, though.

Uhfgood