modules sound out of sync

Started by aRealHamster, March 25, 2023, 20:17:25

Previous topic - Next topic

aRealHamster

Hi, i'm new to OpenMPT and trackers as a whole, and i'd like to figure out why anything i try to make sounds wrong. I understand it's something to do with the BPM of the module as opposed to the sample, but i don't really get how all of that works. If anyone could point me in the direction of any resources on this topic, that would be great. Thanks!

Saga Musix

Unfortunately the question doesn't really contain a lot of information so it's hard to answer. Like, what are you trying to sync up to each other? Do you want to match the tempo of your song to a drum loop sample, for example?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

aRealHamster

Yeah, I want to be able to bridge two samples together through a portion of a drum break consistently so that it sounds like someone is actually playing it.

Saga Musix

In general - completely independent of OpenMPT, trackers, or even software in general - you have two possibilities: Match the song tempo to the samples, or match the sample pitch to the song tempo.

Matching the song tempo:
- If there are audible gaps between the samples, increase the song tempo
- If the samples appear to play short (incomplete), decrease the song tempo

Matching the sample pitch:
- If there are audible gaps between the samples, decrease the middle-C frequency (sample rate) of the samples
- If the samples appear to play short, increase the middle-C frequency of the samples

Matching the sample pitch is usually more flexible (as only the MPTM format supports fractional tempos in OpenMPT), but of course it is not always desirable to change the timbre of the sample that way.