Composer or Musician

Started by Sam_Zen, June 24, 2006, 23:58:35

Previous topic - Next topic

As a tracker, do you consider yourself a composer or a musician ?

Composer
7 (36.8%)
Musician
0 (0%)
Both
10 (52.6%)
Something else
2 (10.5%)

Total Members Voted: 19

Voting closed: June 24, 2006, 23:58:35

Sam_Zen

This is caused by some small discussions I encountered in several threads about this controversy.
Because they were mostly off-topic at the moment, so to avoid, I prefer this way.

Edit by mod: Fixed title so it doesn't contain [ Poll ] twice.

rncekel

I think this is a little ambigous, although may be intentionally so. What does exactly means "musician"? Many people identify this as "player": someone who plays an instrument and makes concerts. But it could be also considered with a very general meaning as someone who makes music (playing or not). I don't know which intention had Sam in mind, but I will take it as the first meaning, so I will say that I am a composer. I was a musician some years ago, but even when I returned, I decided never to play instruments again (well, except in holidays).

LPChip

I define "a mucisian" as someone that makes music in one way or the other. For that matter, I also considder a DJ to be a mucisian.

But since we arrange our sounds in such way to create music (atleast I do) I considder myself to be a composer too.

If you'd only use drumloops and pre-recorded samples with melodyloops in them etc, I'd question if it can be called a composer.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

mikosoft

I agree with rncekel's opinion.
As I see it, a musician is someone who plays an instrument but doesn't have to make any own composition.