Playback lag/delay issue [Solved]

Started by TheMordent, June 27, 2019, 02:27:11

Previous topic - Next topic

TheMordent

Hello, I've been using OpenMPT for a couple years and have always experienced pretty much instant playback of my song patterns when I press the 'Play' or 'Replay Pattern' buttons. There was almost no delay between pressing those buttons and hearing my song patterns.
However, I recently got a new computer and when I use OpenMPT, there seems to be like a 1 second delay between pressing Play/Replay Pattern buttons and hearing my song patterns (the song pattern freezes and doesn't move for a second too). This delay only occurs when I make edits to the song pattern itself. If I don't make any edits to the song pattern, and just press Play, then Pause, then Play again, there is no delay and the playback is nearly instant.
I know this seems like a minor issue, but this unexpected delay/lag really gets on my nerves after making several edits. Are there any fixes to this issue? My new computer is pretty high-performance compared to my previous one and the OpenMPT settings between both computers are basically set as the same, so I don't think this is a matter of hardware.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Saga Musix

Pretty much the only thing about your computer here that matters is the sound device you are using and the drivers. Is it by any chance onboard audio and if so, by which manufacturer?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

LPChip

Also, check the latency settings. It is likely that because you use a different audio device, the latency settings have been reset. WASAPI with a small buffer/latency should fix the issue.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis