OpenMPT User from MIDI World

Started by RyanBram, February 07, 2015, 12:43:20

Previous topic - Next topic

RyanBram

Hi, Saga and OpenMPT community members,
My name is Ryan and I am new in Tracker world.

I love music, but cannot ever become a great musician. I like instrumental music, but never really like song (music with vocal). I am collecting video game music, because there are many video game which have very good sound track. There are many game OST in the form of Standard Midi Files (.mid) on internet, but I rarely see them in the form of module format (.it, etc).

The first time I jump into music creation is because I try to mimic the music from my favorite video game and the tool that I use is MIDI sequencer. I am trying to use OpenMPT, because I saw that module format somehow sounds more realistic. As a non-technical person I am just curious with several questions in  my mind:

1. What is the technical difference between MIDI and Module format? Isn't Module just MIDI with sound?
2. Are there features from MIDI which are not available in Module format and features from Module format which are not available in MIDI? Why exact translation from MIDI to Module and vice versa seems non trivial (or maybe impossible?) than translating from one module format to another module?
3. Why MIDI is composed using piano roll, but Module is composed using tracker? Is it because piano roll cannot offer some feature of Module format and tracker cannot offer some feature of MIDI or it just because nobody interested enough to jump and make them?

If my question sounds stupid, you don't need to answer it, but I hope I can get clever answer here as it seems that Module person know MIDI better than MIDI person know Module.

Cheers  ;D

LPChip