game background music

Started by fireside, November 23, 2011, 18:10:16

Previous topic - Next topic

fireside

Hi.  I just downloaded modplug.  I'm an amateur game writer currently working on an adventure game I plan to put on Kongregate.  Anyway, I was wondering if anyone would be willing to donate some background music.  Unity does mod music and it's a lot more efficient than mp3 for online games.  I need something soft and ambient.  The game has a projected finish date of 6 weeks and will be an escape the room game.

Rakib

Check out http://modarchive.org/ and find a song you like, and ask the author if you are allowed to use the song.
^^

Saga Musix

Note that you can also browse the archive by license. And of course there's the ModArchive forums, were more musicians that use other trackers lurk as well.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

fireside

Thanks for the replies.  I've checked out some of them but I don't think they were intended for background music.  I guess I'll try learning Modplug.  Looks quite interesting and there seems to be quite a bit of documentation.

Saga Musix

Sure, most of that music was made because the musicians felt like composing something, not because they had game music in mind. Still, there is a large variety of CC-licensed and PD music on The Mod Archive (and many songs with no licenses set), so I'm sure you could find something suitable... it might just take a while. ;)
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

LPChip

You can also ask on The Nifflas Support Forum if there's someone who's willing to make you some music. That forum is all about games and being creative. Its also a good place to showcase your game once you're done with it.