First post, newbie question: DOS-style music?

Started by Mothwire, January 19, 2011, 19:48:28

Previous topic - Next topic

Mothwire

Hello, everyone.  I just recently downloaded ModPlug after having heard a few very slick .it songs, all of which sounded very similar to music from old DOS-based games that I used to play and adore, games like Alone in the Dark, Tyrian 2000 and Waxworks, if any of you are familiar.  I decided that I really want to get in on making music like this.  I'm still learning the ropes of tracking, but in the mean time I was wondering if anyone had any input or advice on things I can do to achieve this particular sound; samples or VSTi's I should download, special ways to configure ModPlug, etcetera.

For reference I've snagged a couple of links to example the type of sound I'm talking about:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-zO0ZKrHHQ - A personal favorite, and a song that'll always stick with me
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTglvVMMXjg

Thanks very much, all!

Saga Musix

AitD, Tyrian etc. use FM music, i.e. music that is generated using the infamous OPL2 or OPL3 sound chips. Sadly there is no proper OPL VSTi available, so the easiest way to write real and authentic OPL music would be to use Adlib Tracker. Of course AT doesn't support sample playback, so you'd have to decide whether samples are important to you or not. If they are important, it would be easier to just use it as a sound generator and record its output (f.e. playing a long note of an instrument, record it and use that as a sample in OpenMPT).
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

LPChip

"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis