Buying a MIDI keyboard

Started by Oliwerko, February 19, 2010, 12:50:57

Previous topic - Next topic

Oliwerko

Hi there lads,

I've come to the point where I want to get myself a MIDI keyboard, for composing with QWERTZ is tiresome and inconvenient. I'm still a beginner in this field and thus I would appreciate some advice.

I always thought that for a MIDI keyboard, you need a MIDI cable and a MIDI input on your soundcard. Recently, I discovered that majority of the keyboards work through USB! My question is - is there any notable latency when USB is used?

I have a Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer soundcard, which (if I'm not mistaken) has also ASIO support. That means latencies should be minimal, is it true?
Is a USB cable really all I need?

Another thing is what exact brand/type to get. I want a 61-key keyboard, for 49 is nice, but still rather small. 88 is expensive and spacey, so I guess 61 is a golden middle way.

I've been thinking of M-Audio Oxygen 61 - http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Oxygen61.html
It's priced at about 160 EUR here, which is about the max I am willing to pay.

Another I was checking out was Behringer UMX61 - http://www.behringer.com.au/EN/Products/UMX61.aspx

and also E-MU Xboard 61 - http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp?category=532&subcategory=533&product=15164

Is there anything I should pay special attention to? Does anyone have any experience with the above keyboards?
I am primarily interested in the Oxygen, because it has sliders beside knobs, which seems to me very useful, but again, I may be mistaken.

Thanks for any pointers, I want to be sure I know what I'm buying  :wink:
I am not afraid of death.
I am afraid of murder.

Saga Musix

Well, as stated on the Nectarine oneliner...

- USB signals obviously don't go through the soundcard.