Author Topic: Differently colored instrument strips  (Read 4112 times)

Offline unfa

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Differently colored instrument strips
« on: August 17, 2009, 16:10:00 »
Hi everyone!

I think it could be a nice feature for improoving speed of work. Here how should it work:

- each created instrument (or sample if no istruments are used) gets a random color identification. It is displayed as a coloured rectangle next to instrument name edit box. Clicking on it with left mouse button opens a color selection dialog, where user can set the requested color. Right-clicking instantly changes color to new randomly generated one.
- in pattern view, a default background color is used everywhere, where no note is played. But each instrument cell's background (maybe note cell's too) until a ^^ or == is used has a current instrument color instead of default defined in color sheme.
-an additional feature would allow user to set genarated color's desired saturation and brightness (hue is random). An additional frame in Colors tab in Setup window. There is some room left :)

No more reading this tiny instrument number, you just SEE which instrument plays here!

Here is how I see it working:
http://www.mediafire.com/?dndyjjmlhcz
my music Right now. I'am working with OpenMPT on Ubuntu. Just a bit harder... but still possible and I'am happy about this :)

Offline LB

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • http://www.LB-Stuff.com/
Differently colored instrument strips
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 16:12:48 »
This sounds like a great idea, if used correctly! *adds 1 point to the vote counter*
Don't feed the bunnies. They will bring thier friends next time.

~MMF2 Developer user~
LB-Stuff - My Website

Offline Waxhead

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 251
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.dirtcellar.net
  • Operating System: WinXP , Linux
Differently colored instrument strips
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2009, 19:14:39 »
If someone does this please make it optional!

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,105
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Differently colored instrument strips
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2009, 20:39:59 »
I wonder if it is actually possible with the current pattern editor.

I know that it uses bitmaps for fonts instead of a simple textscreen, but ofcource I can still see a way to get colour there, as its already possible. The from note to note colouring seems to be hard though... What if you don't enter a note-off or note-cut? Will it create an endless note?

Or how about having several notes behind eachother with only one note-off, but the others still sound?
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,173
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Differently colored instrument strips
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2009, 20:47:25 »
especially BECAUSE the pattern is based on a bitmap, it should be easy to use different background or foreground colours. Believe me, there aren't really any technical issues - It's more like motivation that's lacking. :P
ยป No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LB

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • http://www.LB-Stuff.com/
Differently colored instrument strips
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2009, 00:19:34 »
Quote from: "LPChip"
I wonder if it is actually possible with the current pattern editor.

I know that it uses bitmaps for fonts instead of a simple textscreen, but ofcource I can still see a way to get colour there, as its already possible. The from note to note colouring seems to be hard though... What if you don't enter a note-off or note-cut? Will it create an endless note?

Or how about having several notes behind eachother with only one note-off, but the others still sound?


Well, maybe it could calculate the sample/instrument length based on the info it has to detirmine how long to make it. Just a guess, don't know how easy that'd be.
Don't feed the bunnies. They will bring thier friends next time.

~MMF2 Developer user~
LB-Stuff - My Website