VSTi Effects Support?

Started by low_tech_eclectic, July 27, 2009, 03:16:44

Previous topic - Next topic

low_tech_eclectic

I recently started playing with VSTi in my IT mods, after learning about how to set them up in this thread.  But I noticed that I don't have as much control over VSTi output as I do with samples.  For example, when trying to use pitch bending (exx/fxx, either in the volume or effects column) some instruments will only rise or lower a few pitches, and some not at all.  Similarly I can't seem to set their volume directly, use volume slides, tremolo, or really any effects.  Is there a way to use VSTi and still have effects and volume control?  So far I've tried GTG kwop 7, Pink, and Abakos if that helps.

bvanoudtshoorn

VSTis work on MIDI messages. OpenMPT only sends through a certain set of MIDI messages to VSTis, though, and different plugins interpret them differently.

Velocity: vXX [volumn column]
Pitch bend: eXX || fXX [volume column]
Automation: SFx && (Zxx || \xx) [effects column]

So to answer your question, no, most of what you can do with samples in OpenMPT can't be done directly to VSTis. This is also because each VSTi just sends back a stereo audio signal -- OpenMPT can't differentiate between voices in the VSTi, so any post-processing would have to be done to the plugin's entire output.

LPChip

Also:

Do note that even while you can pitchbend using Exx and Fxx, it will only send the pitchbend Midi CC to the plugin. If the plugin itself only has support for a short pitchbend range, you'll have to learn to live with it.

Alternativelly, you can create a new song, put your VSTi's in it, create a pattern that plays one tone for say... 2 seconds and save it as wav. Use that as sample for your song.

Additionally, you can use Zxx (Midi CC's) to control many parameters of your plugin.