Author Topic: Speed/ticks per row/tempo  (Read 3121 times)

Offline tim

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Speed/ticks per row/tempo
« on: April 04, 2009, 15:43:48 »
I'm making this song which transitions from 6/8 @ 220 BPM to 4/4 @ 140, only I want to track the 4/4 at 280 so I can make cool things happen. So, on the transition, I set the pattern to 128 rows, 140 BPM, 3 ticks per row. The pattern should be whizzing by, only in this particular case, I can't get the ticks/row to change the speed.
If I track this 4/4 bit by itself, I can change the speed with ticks/row.
Does anyone know why ticks/row won't change the speed on the transition, and what I need to kick in order to make it go?

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Speed/ticks per row/tempo
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 15:59:52 »
To change the speed, use Txx. To change the ticks per row, use Axx

Put these commands on the first line of the pattern where you want to change things.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline tim

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Speed/ticks per row/tempo
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2009, 16:39:54 »
Quote from: "LPChip"
To change the speed, use Txx. To change the ticks per row, use Axx

Put these commands on the first line of the pattern where you want to change things.


Yeah, I did, but the ticks per row should change the speed, from what I understand.  As in, T8c is 140 bpm @ 6 ticks/row, but should (in my mind) bump up to 280 bpm @ 3 ticks/row. However, in this case, the ticks/row does not affect the tempo at all. If I track the 4/4 bit by itself, I can double the tempo with A03 (which is what I'm trying to do in the transition, but can't).
I could just leave the ticks/row value at 6 and move the tempo to 280, but if adjusted as an effect, tempo can only go as high as 255.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,516
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Speed/ticks per row/tempo
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2009, 17:55:40 »
Quote
However, in this case, the ticks/row does not affect the tempo at all.

You seem to have Modern Tempo Mode enabled, you can disable it in the module properties.
ยป No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline tim

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Speed/ticks per row/tempo
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2009, 18:35:33 »
Quote from: "Jojo"
You seem to have Modern Tempo Mode enabled, you can disable it in the module properties.


Ahh! Excellent. Thank you!