Author Topic: How to control VST instruments?  (Read 4212 times)

Offline Apocalyptiq

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 26
How to control VST instruments?
« on: September 07, 2007, 17:30:15 »
Is there some way to control a volume or add some module effects to VST instruments?
When I write something like this:
Code: [Select]
D 5 01
   v64 F09
   v48 F00
   v32 F00
   v16 F00
   v00

the VST inst plays with normal volume and without slide up.
It is possible to control VSTi's like normal samples?

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,312
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
How to control VST instruments?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2007, 17:31:27 »
I'm not sure as I have never used VSTis, but here's a wild guess:
If the VSTi has a parameter for its volume, you could control this parameter via Zxx.
ยป No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Relabsoluness

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Re: How to control VST instruments?
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2007, 20:36:54 »
Quote from: "Apocalyptiq"
Is there some way to control a volume or add some module effects to VST instruments?

VSTi volume can be controlled for example with its own volume control(if it has one), or with dry/wet ratio, see http://forum.openmpt.org/index.php?topic=1350.0.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,122
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
How to control VST instruments?
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2007, 09:07:50 »
alternativelly, you could fire a series of notes each with a different volume.

Like:

C-4 v64
C-4 v20

etc...
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Relabsoluness

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
How to control VST instruments?
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2007, 13:53:35 »
Quote from: "LPChip"
alternativelly, you could fire a series of notes each with a different volume.

Like:

C-4 v64
C-4 v20

etc...

This doesn't always work - I guess it depends on the VSTi.

Offline bvanoudtshoorn

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
    • Barryvan
How to control VST instruments?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2007, 01:45:49 »
Some VSTis support volume information, some don't. For example, Kontakt quite happily plays at whatever volume I tell it to using the vxx command, but FabFilterOne just plays at its normal volume whatever I put in. =D It just depends on the plug.