Sample importing problem with .mod and playback/sample rate

Started by Mortis, August 14, 2007, 22:47:46

Previous topic - Next topic

Mortis

Hello all,

I've tried to learn tracking because I'm committed to audio design for a little project and am required to make .mod-based music. As far as trackers go, ModPlug is definitely going to be my weapon of choice - the interface is excellent (for a tracker), but as I'm new to importing samples I just cannot fathom why I cannot import samples at the frequency they have been created.

So here's the scenario: I want to import my real-world samples at C-4 (middle C). The samples have been recorded as such.

The thing is, though, that when I work with .mod and import such a sample, no matter whether the audio files are wav, raw, aiff, unsigned/signed, 8-bit/16-bit, the program always imports the audio at a frustratingly low playback or sample rate (I'm not sure which one is the problem here). Changing the playback rate of the files to a higher octave (C-6, C-7 even) does not help, it's still a low hum.

I don't have this problem with other formats like .XI which I understand support more modern quality files anyhow. Sadly, in this particular project, we're limited to the use of .mod.

So far I've just gone around the problem by pressing the downsample-button three times to get right about the right level of sound, but my god, it's awfully frustrating to work with such low-quality samples.

Could someone explain why and what this is about?

Edit: I actually found an interesting detail in the OpenMPT wiki:

QuoteDownsample