Author Topic: Render to sample  (Read 7819 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Render to sample
« on: October 08, 2008, 13:31:02 »
A nice feature some trackers have is to make a WAV export not to hard disk, but into a sample slot. so one could create a little sequence in a tune, open the WAV Export window and instead of specifying an output file, select a checkbox to render the chosen part of the song into a sample slot.

Edit: Moved to issue tracker http://bugs.openmpt.org/view.php?id=561
« Last Edit: July 10, 2014, 13:54:42 by Saga Musix »
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Render to sample
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 22:35:14 »
I can imagine this could be very useful in some situations.
0.618033988

Offline oxxi

  • Inspired artist
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • my computer musiks
  • Operating System: Win 7
Render to sample
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2010, 01:26:22 »
I hope with all my heart, this gets implemented one day.  :cry_fists:
////

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Render to sample
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2010, 18:36:07 »
No worries, I still know that I have this in my wishlist. Doesn't make it easier to implement it, though...
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline g

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Render to sample
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2010, 22:05:51 »
Render to clipboard would also be nice.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Render to sample
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2010, 22:11:22 »
Oh, and while we're at it, render to printer of course! (SCNR)
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline g

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Render to sample
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2010, 22:37:10 »
:P I was being serious! imagine, just make a selection in the pattern editor and right click, select "copy as WAV" :D

Offline Skaven

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • http://www.mikseri.net/skaven
Render to sample
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2010, 16:21:08 »
Quote from: "Sam_Zen"
I can imagine this could be very useful in some situations.

Ditto! Oldskool tracker songs often used chord samples to cope with channel limits. This would make it very easy to create them out of solo samples. If you want to do real HC oldskool and use just 4 channels, that is.

Offline Alikrus

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 7
Pattern to sample/instrument
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2010, 01:44:25 »
I think about it too.
But in my variant in the sample/instrument tab have an number of pattern. If it defined, tracker/player are rendering signed pattern to the this sample.
And in signed pattern do not use this sample as recursion!
So simple! ::)

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Render to sample
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2010, 14:26:15 »
I second, er, third, uh...tenth this request! :P

Offline nervesagent

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Render to sample
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2013, 18:45:11 »
I was thinking more of building in the possibillity of using rendered channels...
So you can "bounce" your channels and they will show up like that in the pattern editor as a channel with the "rendered" attribute...
See my screenshot to get the picture...
If you add timestretch and basic sample editing that would be supercool for vocal tracks and remixing...

Offline nervesagent

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Render to sample
« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2013, 15:36:07 »
Please also see discussion I opened in:
http://forum.openmpt.org/index.php?topic=5127.0

I did an interesting find on how renoise copes with this..they use an open source lib called Rubberband.
http://www.renoise.com/tools/rubberband-timestretch-pitch-shift

Source code and compiled commandline tool are available here:
http://www.breakfastquay.com/rubberband/

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Render to sample
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2013, 21:07:01 »
That's quite a different beast from what my original idea is about, though.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline nervesagent

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Render to sample
« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2013, 21:52:42 »
Well... I suppose it is and at the same time it isnt..

Only difference is that you are talking about mixdown from Modplug to sample slot (in that case there are no issues with timing) but I was thinking about using a mixdown from some other daw or live recording and the things I have to do to make them become usefull in MPT.

That is why I started a new discussion in http://forum.openmpt.org/index.php?topic=5127.0
  ... mentioning Breakfastquay's Rubberband tool... would it be very difficult to replicate the way renoise uses this opensource lib in the sample editor screen?


What you are suggesting would be very usefull for me sometimes as well, when doing a mixdown in MPT to preserve channels or freeze vsti output to preserve cpu.




Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: Render to sample
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2015, 20:55:04 »
Saga has finally implemented this and it's a huge new feature. Let's test it, and if all goes well it will be in the next release. 8)