Need Some Help with Importing Custom Samples in OpenMPT ??

Started by derekkktheler, September 26, 2024, 09:00:27

Previous topic - Next topic

derekkktheler

Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to OpenMPT and loving the flexibility it offers for creating music: However, I have hit a bit of a roadblock when it comes to importing custom samples into my tracks. I have tried loading .WAV and .FLAC files into the sample slots but I am not sure I am doing it correctly because sometimes they don't seem to play right or the sound quality changes:

Can anyone share some best practices for importing and managing custom samples in OpenMPT: ?? For example:

What is the ideal sample rate or bit depth for OpenMPT: ??
Are there any specific settings I should adjust to maintain the original sound quality: ??
Any tips for organizing or optimizing sample usage in larger projects: ??

I am eager to learn and improve my workflow so any advice from more experienced users would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help !!

With Regards
Derek Theler

Saga Musix

OpenMPT can handle pretty much any sample rates and bit depths, and in general the higher the quality of the samples is, the better of course. However, as with any sampler (no matter if hardware or software), there are some limitations to sample playback that may cause samples to sound strange. As your description is a bit vague on what the actual problem is, I will assume in the following description that this is your problem, because it is what confuses most beginners about sample playback.