VSTs that used to work freeze OpenMPT when their interfaces are opened.

Started by VorTechnix, November 19, 2023, 04:00:28

Previous topic - Next topic

VorTechnix

I recently returned to OpenMPT after a long hiatus. I updated OpenMPT to the latest version (via download) and opened an old project only to discover several VSTs in it would freeze MPT when I tried to open their interfaces.

• The vsts are 32 bit, I'm using 32 bit (x86) OpenMPT (I triple checked).
  • I tried uninstalling and reinstalling OpenMPT.
  • I tried deleting the plugin cache and settings files (so they would be regenerated).
  • I tried the plugins in new MPTM projects.

The VSTS are as follows:

Eclipsis (which has been flaky in the past)
https://www.kvraudio.com/product/eclipsis-by-zone-sk

A bunch of vsts by 'The Colorspace' (I've been using them in OpenMPT for a few years -- Bass One, Cloud, and Feeling were the ones I tested)
https://plugins4free.com/dev/265/

Maxwell Smart (which has worked since I started using OpenMPT)
https://www.kvraudio.com/product/maxwell-smart-by-lively-audio

These are the ones I've tested so far but there are probably more.

Some Technical information attached

Saga Musix

It is very likely that they worked fine before because you were using the 32-bit version of OpenMPT, so the plugins didn't need to be bridged. If you still use lots of 32-bit plugins, you should definitely continue to run the 32-bit version instead of the 64-bit version, to avoid the dependency on the plugin bridge - which will work with many plugins, but plugin GUIs are still the biggest problem, and while I can look into making those particular plugins work, you will definitely be better off trying to keep things unbridged.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

VorTechnix