Author Topic: How to create samples with Notepad :)  (Read 353 times)

Offline Metro28

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Gender: Male
  • soy feo
    • Blogger
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 (broken) or WTPC32
How to create samples with Notepad :)
« on: September 10, 2021, 01:33:33 »
Hello there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Today I'm going to show you how to create samples with Notepad.

The pictures show well what I mean.

1. Create a new text document.

2. Write anything (I recommend numbers).

3. Move the text document to the samples tab, and configure the sample.

4. Ready!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love listening to IT files on MilkyTracker and 8ch MOD on Klystrack...

Offline Vojvodinosaurus

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • az én zeném, az én büszkeségem
  • Operating System: Windows, duh
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2021, 06:55:01 »
for me it only produces some clicks but no actual tones

Offline Metro28

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Gender: Male
  • soy feo
    • Blogger
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64 (broken) or WTPC32
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2021, 13:56:56 »
for me it only produces some clicks but no actual tones
yes
I love listening to IT files on MilkyTracker and 8ch MOD on Klystrack...

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,314
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2021, 15:30:58 »
You'd have to loop the sample to hear a proper tone. Anyway, there is absolutely no point in using this technique when you can simply draw a chip sample directly in OpenMPT's sample editor. You'll get much more predictable results much more easily.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline mabersold

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 9
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2021, 15:34:45 »
True story: I used a QBasic file as a sample in a song once. Not a great idea musically, but in my defense, I was 16 and thought it was funny. I still have the song, but I never attempted to export the QBasic file from it to see if it still runs.

Offline Exhale

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
    • http://www.exhale7.110mb.com
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2021, 07:15:53 »
I remember doing this with old - not open source - modplug tracker... I was a young teen at the time, and I thought it was cool... now, saga is right, we have the ability to draw samples - far superior in every way (I can even draw a decent kick sometimes when I am not being lazy and just reaching for a vst), but it is nice to be reminded of the fun capabilities of modplug. I remember I generally just got noise out of the text turned into samples, but with longer and more complex stuff you can sometimes find something interesting and inspiring to play with.
___________________
The turtle moves!

Offline peterpiper0815

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: How to create samples with Notepad :)
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2021, 11:40:32 »
Sometimes I use this feature to get sampledata out of my old hardware sampler library. I have an AKAI s900 and Casio FZ1 sampler. They both use floppy disks (of course).
For backups of these floppy disks I use the sofware omniflop which create an image backup file.
By dragging this imagefile into OpenMPT I can get the raw samples. Of course, there are some data chunks too that I delete.