How do Ticks per row translate into normal bpm?

Started by Louigi Verona, October 05, 2019, 12:22:41

Previous topic - Next topic

Louigi Verona

When working in a traditional DAW, you have bpms. So, let's say I have a 125 bpm track.

From what I understand, a tracker tempo corresponding to this would be 125 bpm 6 ticks per row. So, what does changing ticks per row do to the tempo? I did read the manual, but I found it very difficult to understand. I also played around with trying to expand the pattern so that I can do shuffled notes without the tick per row change trick, but simply by placing the notes in the shuffle positions, but then all the notes begin to be played differently, since you need to multiply the tempo by 2 so that you effectively "zoom in".

Anyway, quite confused about this whole thing. If someone could help with a link or an explanation, please!  :-*

Exhale

Ok I am no programmer, and cannot give you definitive answers on this, but the way I have understood ticks per row the whole time I have used modplug is like this: (I will use mptm/it code in this set of examples)