Author Topic: Create instruments groups & save as groups  (Read 884 times)

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Create instruments groups & save as groups
« on: May 05, 2019, 10:22:25 »
Hi there,

When exporting a track for films (for instance), it is nearly always needed to deliver stems, but that doesn't mean each instrument should be delivered separately, as cello can be together with violins & violas, snares with bdrums & hihats, basses alone etc etc.

So my suggestion is : it would be great to be able to create (and name, of course) groups for instruments (kind of "create group" and "add instrument to group X", so that we can save an entire song with separate tracks for each group (cello+violin+viola in a group, for instance, all percs in another, basses in another etc).

So we would get a "save as groups" in addition to the current (useful too) "save as tracks or instruments".
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 10:37:45 by RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER) »

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,075
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Re: Create instruments groups & save as groups
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2019, 10:26:00 »
You can manually do this, by soloing out all the instruments but the ones you want, then export to wave, and repeat the process.

But I understand the request. Do note that the forum is not the place to request features, but our Issue Tracker is.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Re: Create instruments groups & save as groups
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2019, 10:28:08 »
Yes, I know we can do it manually, but it is very uncomfortable.

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Re: Create instruments groups & save as groups
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2019, 10:28:43 »
(sorry if I'm in the wrong place, by the way)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,770
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: Create instruments groups & save as groups
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2019, 14:58:23 »
There is a long-standing feature request for channel groups, which would probably be very close to what you want.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Re: Create instruments groups & save as groups
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2019, 11:56:45 »
OK then I'll keep an eye on it, thanks.