Author Topic: Add an instrument  (Read 5182 times)

Offline Faded Rose

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 4
Add an instrument
« on: December 09, 2015, 10:35:28 »
Hello !

First: I'm sorry for some errors, I'm french.

I downloaded ModPlug Tracker yesterday and tried to play some notes, i opened examples... Modify the pattern for change the music.
But, when i want create my new MPT module, i create one, and after:
  • I cant add an instrument from the GM.DLS, Hand Clap(D#3)
  • Can only add instruments from the examples
  • Cant add samples from the MIDI Library
  • And cant found the instrument Library, i'm using Windows 8. MPT show a folder and his name is Instrument Library (C:\Users\admin\Documents\), the folder for instruments isn't here, there is only the module1.it

If you can help me, thanks !
Petit nouveau de MPT

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,312
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 13:29:15 »
You can put new samples whereever you want, "C:\Users\admin\Documents\" in particular is a pretty bad folder (it's just a default to have at least some writable folder). You may want to put a dedicated folder for samples somewhere on your hard drive, and then set up the sample/instrument paths to point to that folder.
Note that you can also open the "Instrument Library " folder in OpenMPT's tree view and navigate to some other folder there, or double-click the "C:\Users\admin\Documents\" item in the lower part of the tree view to navigate.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Faded Rose

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 4
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2015, 17:05:38 »
And how add an instrument like the hand clap ?

I dont have any specials samples, i just want to try to make a music a music with the basic sounds, but cant add basic samples and instruments of MPT.

With the tree view i can navigate but didn't find any instruments, i tried the folder of MPT, in C:\users\admin\Documents. I tried too a research with windows "Instruments Library", "GM.DLS", and didnt find any informations or instruments folder...
Petit nouveau de MPT

Offline Combinebobnt

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows 7
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2015, 19:05:24 »
This is how:

Offline Faded Rose

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 4
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2015, 22:40:28 »
Oh, thanks Saga Musix and Combinebobnt.
Problem solved !  ;)
Petit nouveau de MPT

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,312
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2015, 22:42:26 »
And if you ever want to escape those low-quality default MIDI samples that ship with Windows, be sure to check out the "Web Resources" link in the Help menu of OpenMPT. ;)
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Faded Rose

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 4
Re: Add an instrument
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2015, 22:51:00 »
Ok  :)
Petit nouveau de MPT