v1.24 sounds different from v1.18 - how do i fix?

Started by ida, July 17, 2015, 13:19:57

Previous topic - Next topic

ida

Hello!

My name is Wouter van Leeuwen. I'm a 16 year old producer from the Netherlands and i make music from 8-bit and Raw Data to Trap and oldschool House. Just gonna leave a link here.

For all of my music i use OpenMPT. Way back in 2008 i was playing some games and one of them used tracker music. I figured i could aswell try tro compose some songs myself - not very good songs, i didn't really share them anywhere. Until a few years ago, when i decided to take music making more seriously and posted some things on my Soundcloud. I like the simple idea of OpenMPT, but i also like how it's combineable with more modern stuff like VST's, although i rarely use those because they'll blow up my old laptop, which is another reason why i fancy OpenMPT.

But recently i ran into a problem. I've been using v1.18.02.00 forever and decided to update, and i got v1.24.04.00. But my songs sound a bit different in the new version. It's especially annoying since i have to open up the old version each time i want to edit some of my songs i made prior to when i updated.

Here you can hear the difference pretty well (unless ofcourse you don't have a Soundcloud account in which case it won't show up). The first sound clip is from 1.24 and the second is from 1.18, how it should be. How do i fix this so that it sounds like 1.18 again?

Thanks in advance!

Saga Musix

There are a variety of reasons why different versions of OpenMPT can sound differently:
- Wrong pattern command interpretation in old versions has been fixed. By using "more IT compatible playback" (default), you will always get the behaviour which is closest to what Impulse Tracker and other programs do, which can vary between OpenMPT versions. Always cross-listen with a good external player like XMPlay to find these differences (and report them if you find one).