Trackers/sequencers for Apple

Started by KRSplat, March 16, 2015, 20:30:30

Previous topic - Next topic

KRSplat

I'm sure this topic has been done before, but...

Are there any good programs that can edit IT, XM, S3M, MOD, etc. ? Or any similar filetype.

I mean, I see that Renoise is for OS X as well. I'm about to see if I can open it.

But Renoise doesn't have the versatility for the above formats like OpenMPT does. I use other trackers too, like I'm new to FamiTracker and Milky Tracker - but I'm wondering if there's any true alternative to OpenMPT for Apple computers.

Thanks!

LPChip

OpenMPT can run using wine, and wine can run on OS X, although I do not have sufficient knowledge of Wine to help.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Saga Musix

Well, Milky for XM, Schism for IT... but I'm not aware of any multi-format tracker with OpenMPT's capabilities. I know some people successfully use OpenMPT on OSX, though, so it can't be that hard. ;)
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Harbinger

When I was using my Mac, before I got a Windows 98 emulator that I could use ModPlug Tracker back in 2005, I was using a program called MadTracker for classic Mac (OS 8.6!). It was okay & could open .it files. However, I got into MPT so I could compose for Unreal Tournament (UT99), which could take an S3M or IT file and convert to UMX for in-game music. MPT could be (and can still be) used under Windows 98, which I emulated on my Mac with VirtualPC, and it was fine for the most basic use of MPT (when I started adding plugins , I ran into problems with CPU).

Saga Musix