Author Topic: How can I make a song loop several times? (solved)  (Read 4366 times)

Offline Yntec

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 2
  • Operating System: Windows XP
How can I make a song loop several times? (solved)
« on: September 15, 2012, 12:04:55 »
Is there a way to edit a song so that at the end of it, it starts again, and loops several times? Or do I need to copy each Pattern and paste them at the end of the song, over and over?

I have a s3m file that is 1mn28s in length, I'd like to make it 5:52 (looping 4 times), I figured I would need to, create a new pattern at the end of the song, copy first pattern here, create new pattern, copy second pattern here, etc., until the effect is achieved, however, this is a painstaking process and I was hoping for some magic button that set the song to loop n times, or that allowed me to duplicate all song's patterns.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2012, 17:49:07 by Yntec »

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Re: How can I make a song loop several times?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2012, 12:13:04 »
If it must look specifically 4 times, then you'll need to copy the orders. Note that you can simply select all the orders. (select the first order, then shift-select the last to create a selection. Right click, copy orders, then right click, paste orders.

If you want an infinite loop, you can go to the last pattern, and add a B00 effect on the last row (which is understood by every player)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,530
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: How can I make a song loop several times?
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2012, 12:24:59 »
Select first order, press Shift+End, press Insert 3 times. That's your magic button.
ยป No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Re: How can I make a song loop several times?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2012, 16:47:04 »
Select first order, press Shift+End, press Insert 3 times. That's your magic button.

Oh wow, thats a cool trick! Thanks :)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Re: How can I make a song loop several times?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2012, 02:40:09 »
Select first order, press Shift+End, press Insert 3 times. That's your magic button.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Yntec

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 2
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: How can I make a song loop several times?
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2012, 17:48:46 »
Select first order, press Shift+End, press Insert 3 times. That's your magic button.

Really cool!

Thank you very much guys  8)