Author Topic: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI  (Read 3009 times)

Offline jmkz

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« on: April 14, 2011, 23:02:18 »
Well, a year ago I post this. Recently I have tested the example lines of mpt_intl.ini and it worked, so I have few questions:

  1. Where I can find more strings to translate?
  2. Is possible -as a feature request- add a horizantal navigation bar for the options list in general setup?  or instead of show the checklist like a column show like a wide row? (because translated text maybe long or short)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,768
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 00:08:21 »
  1. Where I can find more strings to translate?
AFAIK there aren't any other.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline jmkz

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2011, 05:51:04 »
  1. Where I can find more strings to translate?
AFAIK there aren't any other.

Well, I will try find myself other ways to get translatable strings :)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,768
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Re: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2011, 10:41:55 »
You can use something like ResHacker to edit some strings, however some of them (most notably those from the menus) will be overwritten by the program so translating them doesn't do anything. You won't be able to do a full translation without changing the code.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,142
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2011, 19:47:01 »
If anyone's interested, i have a full (as of MPT 1.17.053) list of the hardcoded strings that i was planning on basing a localized string file from. Jojo of course, has added new features and dialogs, so it's not complete, but it'll take away about 80% of the work of looking for all those strings.

But like Jojo said, you'll hafta go in and alter the code to get MPT to access an external file for its text strings.

Offline jmkz

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: About translations via MPT_INTL.INI
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2011, 01:09:19 »
I am interested, my goal is that the translations are "integrated" in OpenMPT, or external (which is the best way): D