I hesitate to ask, but...

Started by tolworthy, February 17, 2006, 22:49:09

Previous topic - Next topic

tolworthy

I'm creating a game that needs music. All I can offer is credit (i.e. thanks,  praise, and links within the game itself), and I know I sound like a cheapskate who wants something for nothing, but please hear me out.

I've always wanted to play a game that has depth, real depth. A few years ago I got tired of waiting and decided to try and create it. My game is very large in both physical size and scope, and deals with very large topics - philosophy, economics, politics, etc. It includes sub games such as  War and Peace, Les Miserables and Dante's Inferno. I know it sounds ambitious, but I've been working on it for several years and expect to have the first completable version by 2010. My point is that the game (I hope!!) has merit. But I'm doing it in my spare time, and my day job is on minimum wage, so my budget is almost zero.

One day I hope to sell the game, so it won't be freeware and I need to be watertight regarding licensing. But the game will probably be sold very cheaply, so offering a financial cut to everyone who helps out would mean I get no money. Also, the game is so big that keeping track of everyone who can demand five cents a copy would just be a headache. Sorry if this sounds mean or lazy. Basically, I'm trying to use materials that are either freeware or can be paid for cheaply in one go with nothing more to pay.

Anyway, to my point. I've just started adding music. Good music is extremely expensive to license. I've been very lucky finding some good music already, but I really need more. And preferably something with a common style, such as music by the same person.

What I would love to do, my holy grail, is to find someone who creates music for the joy of creating it, and would be happy to have it in my game for a small price (and I mean small!) plus the satisfaction of having their name featured prominently in the game.