converting MIDI to S3M, XM, IT, help please!

Started by tuplet, February 14, 2006, 01:36:21

Previous topic - Next topic

tuplet

hello everyone~

sorry to bother you all, but i've been searching these forums for a good half an hour and have yet to find an answer to my question.

i need to know the best way to convert a MIDI file into a reasonable sounding mod with the extension of s3m, xm, or it. i'm a professional composer and i actually have a degree in electronic music (i use MaxMSP and Reason primarily), but am completely and utterly new to the whole mod world (cool stuff though), which makes this all the more frustrating.

i've been using proplayer to make this conversion, but as you all probably know the conversion is extremely messy and far too much articulation and information is lost, so it is inadequate for the relatively detailed piece i'm trying to make into a mod. i also tried using mid2xm but i wasn't able to get it to assign the instruments correctly, the file would come out blank. i'm probably making a really stupid and obvious mistake.

so i'm coming to you guys for help, can anyone give me some good advice as to the quickest way to make a mod of reasonable quality out of a midi file? every tracker i've tried makes a mess out of the midi file, i intend on eventually learning to just create the mod within the tracker, but with this project i wrote it out by hand first and extracted the midi file from a finale score.

thanks in advance for your time and advice

Squirrel Havoc

Quote from: "tuplet"hello everyone~

Hi!

Quotecan anyone give me some good advice as to the quickest way to make a mod of reasonable quality out of a midi file?

Sure, don't use ModPlug Tracker :) The MIDI conversion capability is good, but probably not enough for a pro like you. I just play with it for fun.