ok, so, is modplugtracker good for old-skool rave/hardcore?

Started by totally_mental, January 26, 2009, 22:36:50

Previous topic - Next topic

totally_mental

im new to this tracker, got a few questions really

1st one  being the title!! i've got a load of breakbeats and those old rave techno noise stabs, so i was just wondering if modplug can help me make a rave album?

2nd question is, after playing with it, how do you make the sound stop? you punch a note in and it will carry on, is there a special key i press for a note off / sound off? thank you very much guys!!!!!
sorted.

psishock

1st: welcome to the forums matey. ^^

2st: But of course, you can do *every* type of music with the openMPT! I'm looking forward to hear some nice rave/techno/breakbeat stuff from you.

3rd: you have two options for this:
- note off (looks like this ==), which will finish the sustain loop (if there is any), the note will carry on till the sample reaches it's end, then it will stop.
- note cut (looks like this ^ ^), which will cut instantly the note, nothing will carry on, everything will stop at that moment.

i can't remember the default shortcut keys for these commands, but you can find the keyboard setup in the options menu, look for "pattern editor - note col" --> note cut and note off
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

LPChip

"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Saga Musix

1 is for sure not a default key for "note cut". It's rather the key left to 1.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

LPChip

Quote from: "Jojo"1 is for sure not a default key for "note cut". It's rather the key left to 1.