Author Topic: Disable sound reset on loop  (Read 4146 times)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,689
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Disable sound reset on loop
« on: November 27, 2008, 09:52:01 »
I thought that it would be nice to have an option to *not* cut off notes when a song is returning to position 0. That way, some chiptunes and other looped tunes that sound okay in any other tracker would also sound ok in modplug.

Edit: I fixed this! ^___^
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2008, 14:34:34 »
Support
0.618033988

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,057
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2008, 17:20:35 »
Then just add a loop in it?

If you define a B00 in your song on the last row of the last pattern, it will work.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,689
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2008, 18:34:10 »
i do know that i can edit modules with modplug, thank you. but that is not my point. this is just like saying "if you want to listen to this tune twice, why don't you just render it twice into one wave file?". and i can imagine that i can code this into modplug. :P
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,057
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2008, 20:43:08 »
I just say that I don't see a point in this.

But if you really want this to be in, then atleast make it optional, cus I love the fact that it resets the song on playback.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2008, 20:46:20 »
Quote from: "Jojo"
i do know that i can edit modules with modplug



Quote from: "LPChip"
But if you really want this to be in, then atleast make it optional

He started his sentence with that: :D
Quote
I thought that it would be nice to have an option
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,689
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 10 x64
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2008, 20:47:49 »
compatiblity *is* a concern for me and MPT is actually the only player that i'm aware of that resets notes.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2008, 21:08:19 »
Quote
compatiblity *is* a concern for me and MPT is actually the only player that i'm aware of that resets notes.

This may be true, i'm not aware of this behavior on any other tracker as well.
Support+ for more compatibility.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Sam_Zen

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,689
    • http://www.xs4all.nl/~samzen/
Disable sound reset on loop
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2008, 00:34:03 »
If it's about saving a looped song as wav, it's becoming quite tricky.
Whether you do it by adding a B00 at the last row or setting the Restart in the General tab to a certain pattern number, with the 'Loop Song' box enabled,
in both cases the risk exists that the rendering will go on and on. So there has to be some restriction.
As is suggested here.

Imo the best position for such a restriction would be in the "Wave Convert" dialog by adding an option to set the number of loops for rendering the WAV.
If relevant.
0.618033988