Author Topic: Dual/Multi Core support  (Read 5556 times)

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Dual/Multi Core support
« on: September 27, 2008, 16:22:46 »
As jikoo reminded me on the general forum, this one is reeeealy needed for VST(i)s. I always need to work separately on a few channels because not having enough processing power ::). Hearing all channels at once, without needing to render everything to .wav would save very huge time.

I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline Nahkranoth

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 551
  • Gender: Male
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2008, 18:35:36 »
Nah, what really needed is proper and stable VST support with bank loading ability, some good vst browser and finally - modular host :D
This is not possible in near (and even far) future, but it would be damn good.
Just curious, how many channels/synths/effects are you using at the same time if you have this problem on dual/multi core?

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2008, 20:22:44 »
I'm using an intel Core2Duo overclocked to about 3ghz (that is still very powerful imo), but the situation often can get pretty out of hand.

i'm usually hooking 1-3 effect to 1 VSTi, but the overflow can happen if i example run/automate even 2-3 very complex basses or strings (means hell lots of oscillators modulating each other, fast LFOs included and etc.) VSTis simultaneity.

About channels, hmm i like to spread out my work place, means that i use a separate channel for every type of sound (but that's not really matters because it will give all the midi messages to a same specified VSTi, just gives me comfort when i edit/ more precise preview)
So i use usually about 10-16max for drum, ~6 for bass, ~6-8 for strings, ~4 for leads, and you can count ~10 more for "FX" and other "filler" sounds that will make the experience more richer.
There you have it, about ~40 sounds at a time at least. (means i haven't even counted the multiplier that you need to include on polyphony sounds) I can easily reach 3-400+ :shock: sounds at a time because of their extended release time.
Talking about the need for every single extra way to free up my cpu  ::), i very much would like to ask for the multicore support. ^_^
I'm thinking anyway to buy a strong 3-4ghz dual/quad core processor and clock it 'till it lets me. That way i will breathe a bit more easier with polyphony. =)

complex strings and very fast LFO based basses are the most tricky ones. (cpu hogs)
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,105
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2008, 10:39:54 »
I use alot of VSTi's with alot of effects over it, and I don't get that much CPU problems.

I would say that your VSTi is just very resource heavy, and it might be good to find an alternative that is less cpu heavy.

I once had a situation where my reverb plugin just caused cpu lag. When I found out that it was that plugin, reducing its usage solved all my problems.

And yes, I'm using heavy weight plugs too, like Kontakt, Absynth 4, FM8, etc.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2008, 01:42:55 »
well, i'm only using FM8 now as you already know =) it totally hit the spot for me.
The VST effects are not a problem, but this VSTi can be really resource heavy, totally depends from the sound setup.
If you got any potential alternative that worth a try, drop a comment or two. I personally don't know anything on the market that could replace it.

what i need is:
- 5-6 wave OSCs (with ratio and offset support) that can be modulated with each other
- 1 resonant filter (least)
- graphical envelopes for every OSCs and filter
- least 1 LFO, but more the better
- noise OSC, but not necessary, drums are not CPU hogs
- unison (least 4-8 voices)
- polyphony (the more the better, i would say about 32 minimum, optimal would b 128+)
- portamento support

...hmmm yea, can't thing right now of anything else important, that should cover the basics.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,105
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2008, 06:01:25 »
I'd say: try finding an additional light-weight plugin that you can use next to FM8, so the sounds that don't really require 6 OSC's will use another plugin. That way, you'll have more cpu power for your other stuff. For instance, a good bass often can be made with simple plugins because they all support that whats needed for a simple bass.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline nobuyuki

  • Active artist
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2008, 07:04:35 »
psishock:  Just out of curiosity, how are you able to use FM8 with openMPT without it locking up?  Every time I close the VSTi window for FM8, openMPT hard locks :(

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,105
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2008, 09:08:42 »
Quote from: "nobuyuki"
psishock:  Just out of curiosity, how are you able to use FM8 with openMPT without it locking up?  Every time I close the VSTi window for FM8, openMPT hard locks :(


By using it inside Xlutop Chainer. :)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline bvanoudtshoorn

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,053
  • Gender: Male
    • Barryvan
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2008, 14:24:49 »
Quote from: "LPChip"
By using it inside Xlutop Chainer. :)


If they start developing Chainer again, they should give it a new tagline:

"Xlutop Chainer -- it solves all your VST problems in OpenMPT!"

Offline psishock

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,296
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: win8(64)
Dual/Multi Core support
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2008, 20:10:43 »
nobuyuki:
Well, i can use it without any lockups without Chainer, but if any trouble is experienced yeah, Chainer is the solution 4 u. Maybe you need to upgrade it to the latest version (FM8 i mean), i have 1.03.
I'm as calm as a synth without a player.  (Sam_Zen)