Please Critique My Game Music - Peccata Mundi

Started by Elysius, July 18, 2008, 15:21:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Elysius

Hi, I'm seeking advice on how to improve my composition, which is called Peccata Mundi. This is supposed to be battle music for a Neverwinter Nights 2 game module that I'm developing. (I'm not making any money out of this, in case anyone's wondering.) The battle for which I composed this music is between the heroic players and a seductive female demon.

A zip file containing both my MP3 and IT files may be downloaded here.

For this battle music, I wanted to evoke the divine and profane aspect of the creature that the players will fight. I know that this piece can stand a lot of improvement, but I can't figure out how to do it. I'm a complete noob, having started composing only 3 days ago when I downloaded OpenMPT. (Before then, I had not done any composing whatsoever, and I don't play any musical instrument. That shows how much of a noob I am.) I'd like to add more instruments, but I don't want them to overpower the Chorus Ahs that I used. Constructive criticism will be greatly appreciated.

bvanoudtshoorn

This is good, Elysius! You must have some musical background to have written this... :)

A couple of technical points which might help you, though.

1. You use the "Note Cut" command - ^^. This will cut off the playing note sharply. Perhaps you should try using the "Note Off" command - ==. This will make the note end more smoothly (and in point 2, you'll see how you can control this very precisely).