Author Topic: Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker  (Read 7913 times)

Wodd

  • Guest
Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker
« on: December 18, 2005, 04:34:49 »
<html>
<body>
<p>That is weird. When I try to play a midi file in ModPlug Tracker, I get no audio. Why could that be? I thought ModPlug Tracker supported the .mid file extention, but maybe it doesn't.</p>
</body>
</html>

Offline DavidN

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • http://wired.st-and.ac.uk/~wong/modsite
Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2005, 11:45:42 »
I think Modplug does that when it's not pointed at the right MIDI library. Unfortunately I can't remember offhand how to correct it - check the libraries on the left, and the setup window.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2005, 13:02:10 »
First you need to load a soundfont bank (.dls or .sf2) (they can't be multilayered)

Choose File->Add soundfont bank. You should have a gm.dls in your windows directory. Once that has been added, import the midi file. It should play now.

NOTE: adding the soundfont bank AFTER midi import won't work for that midi song.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Really Weird Person

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
  • I love Daisy (デイジー)!
  • Operating System: Windows 8 Pro x64
Midi Playback in Modplug Tracker
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2006, 06:09:03 »
Nope, it still does not play. It "plays," but no audio comes out. In fact, the channels' VU meters do not even display.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2006, 07:49:43 »
It has to be that you're doing something wrong, cus it works here.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Really Weird Person

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
  • I love Daisy (デイジー)!
  • Operating System: Windows 8 Pro x64
Midi Playback in Modplug Tracker
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2006, 08:38:44 »
Is the file in the wrong Windows directory? It is in the one in D:, not C:.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,135
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64
Midi Playback in ModPlug Tracker
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2006, 08:41:11 »
it doesn't really matter where the file is, as long as its name is GM.DLS and ofcource is a valid file.

First add the library to MPT, THEN load in the midi.

Once you've added the library, you should be able to play its sounds using the left treeview. If it doesn't work there, then the library isn't valid.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Really Weird Person

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
  • I love Daisy (デイジー)!
  • Operating System: Windows 8 Pro x64
Midi Playback in Modplug Tracker
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2006, 09:00:54 »
It works now. I did Import Midi Library and imported the GM.DLS file.