Noise in 8-bit samples (.mod)

Started by Claypool, March 08, 2007, 19:44:52

Previous topic - Next topic

Claypool

Hey folks,
Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere before, I couldn't find anything.

I have an assignment to compose some .mod tracks for a Nintendo DS game, but I have little experience with creating xm/mod/s3m and sorts.

I started off importing some drum samples, 16-bit and 44100 Hz. Everything went well and it sounded great in MPT, but when I saved it and listened to it via Modplug Player, there were some strange noises.

I uploaded the .mod file here: http://www.konterbande.org/Drums1.mod
Sounds kinda funky, but that's not exactly what I wanted. ;)

After a while I figured out that the .mod format uses 8-bit samples (?) and a low samplerate, so that could very well cause the noises, I guess.

Now to my question:
How do I set the high quality samples (16-bit) to a low quality (8-Bit) without getting this great deal of noise?

Saga Musix

well, the sample frequency is not touched when saving a file as MOD - sure, the *default* sample rate will be set at 8363hz, but you play your samples still at C-7 which is about 33khz ;) if you want to use 16-bit sampels (which are less noisy!), you have to use modern module formats like XM or IT.

edit: one hint: if you are going to convert your samples  to 8 bit, be sure to NORMALIZE them first (the icon next  to the note icon in the sample editor). this will reduce the noise a bit because you have a greater level and this results into more details ;)
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Claypool