Tracker Music Is Amazing...But I Don't Know Where To Begin!

Started by TrustUNiT, February 10, 2007, 16:40:03

Previous topic - Next topic

TrustUNiT

I just installed MODPlug & MODPlug QuickStarter.

But I find it very confusing...like how do I get a nice rhythm and how do I get them nice vibey synth sounds you ear.

How do I load things up.

I am complete newb to tracker music.

Could someone get me off to a nice start please

Thank you

LPChip

It is a good idea to check this topic:

http://forum.openmpt.org/index.php?topic=884.0

Somewhere below is a guide to learn tracking. Maybe not as precise in the sense of tutorial, but its a guide that tells how how to approach tracking.

You can also get some more information about MODPlug Tracker from our online manual. http://openmpt.xwiki.com/xwiki/bin/view/Manual/Index

Do note that this manual is about OpenMPT which is version 1.17.xxxx there's also an older MODPlug Tracker which is version 1.16. I recommend to get 1.17 RC2 if you don't already have, with a possible addition of beta revision .45

Before I can answer your question more detailed, I'd like to know what you do know. :)
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

TrustUNiT

Well I have worked out that I have to drag samples onto the intruments then go back and press keys to get all them C#05 and stuff like that to come up and sometimes i get a sound and sometimes i dont but i cant make a tune or anything like that.

LPChip

I see...

I've decided to write a tutorial that explains the basic steps you'll need to make in order to get you a song.

Although at this point of posting, I haven't made it yet, but the page already exists.

The URL: http://openmpt.xwiki.com/xwiki/bin/view/TutMakeSong/