Tips on percussion ...

Started by Zill, December 11, 2006, 11:26:42

Previous topic - Next topic

Zill

I'm very new to the tracking scene and I've fallen quite in love with ModPlug after playing with it for a few months.

I have a question, if it's alright. :?
Basically, my forte is creating tunes and hooks and, basically the melodic part.
But one thing I can't grasp in ModPlug is the arrangement of percussion.

How do you guys make music that fits the percussion samples so well? How do you align the music properly with the beat?
Especially if the beat is a single looping sample.

That's my problem, I make the tunes just fine but I always have tons of trouble getting the tunes to match up with the beat.
I'll start out with a tune, and then by the time I add a beat sample to it I have to re-arrange my tune until it matches with the beat, which takes forever because there's no way to tell where the upbeat and the downbeat are so I can't discern where to arrange the tune.

Is using a single looping sample of a beat a bad idea in this case?

Any advice is well appreciated.
Thanks!  :D
-zill

speed-goddamn-focus

Perhaps you could try making a few songs starting with the beat, or at least use simple beat as a click-track or metronome or whatever when you make your melodies?

LPChip

Indeed, in this case, its important to know where the beat will be before basing your song on it.

Especially when you're going to work with longer samples like a drum loop sample.

In such cases, its very important to make sure that the drumloop sample is being played in an equal amount of rows (depending on the length, 16,32 or 64 rows.)

So before you start a new song, play your drumloop at the right key (eg. C-4) and then set your song's speed so that it matches either 16 rows, or 32 or 64 or more, depending on how much space you want and how many beats that drumloop has.