Have a very peculiar question about Samples - Guide me

Started by scatman84, December 03, 2010, 03:51:01

Previous topic - Next topic

scatman84

Hello

As I told you, I am new to MOD music......but I am getting hold of it....

I have an assignment whose deadline is near....So please tell me whether following method is LEGIT or NOT ?

What if I use only the Samples of the MOD files created by others ? I will change the the whole music, tune, arrangement, etc..

Is it legit ? If it Stealing, then I WONT do it.

Thanks !

KrazyKatz

Hey Scatman.

Taking samples from other peoples pieces is also known in old school terms as "ripping". Technically it's not legal unless you know the sample is freeware, creative commons, or you get permission from the person who owns the sample.  People would rip from each other all the time, so it's hard to be sure what is okay and what is not in a file.

There is tons of available free stuff out there though, so it really shouldn't be a problem to play it legal. 
What type of sounds are you looking for?
I and many others here would be glad to steer you to what you need.
Sonic Brilliance Studios
http://www.sonicbrilliance.com

LPChip

Since you will be spreading the mod as part of a game, I certainly would not recommend in doing this unless you have permission. Also mention when asking for permission that it will be shipped with a game.

Although I would recommend to create your own samples. You can download a free VSTi, and sample some sounds out of it. For drums this will be a bit harder though. An alternative is to download samples from a samplesite that allows you to share them. As KrazyKatz points out, the license agreement determines whether its allowed to use them that way or not.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis