Roland M-128/M-256/M-512 / Akai BR-16/BR-32 compatible multi-bank cards

Started by Saga Musix, February 08, 2017, 13:53:51

Previous topic - Next topic

Saga Musix

This is a project I have been working on with a friend of mine for over two years now that isn't directly OpenMPT-related for once.
I thought I'd post about it on this forum as well as surely there are are some owners of the relevant hardware to be found here.

TL;DR: What is it?
We designed memory cards that can serve as a replacement for Roland's legacy memory cards (M-128D, M-256D, M-256E, M-512E, M-512G) as well as Akai's electrically equivalent BR-16 and BR-32 cards. These cards are used by a wide range of vintage Roland and Akai audio gear for storing patch data.
The project is nearing completion and you can now sign up to be informed about the availability of the card!

The Prehistory
Some time after I bought my Roland D-50 a few years ago, I was running out of space for storing my favourite patches on the synth, so I got a Roland M-256 RAM card for 30€ off eBay to extend the synth's memory - which was a real bargain at the time, when they were typically going for 50€ or more. Prices have increased in the meantime and it seems like you cannot find an M-256 memory card for less than 80€ these days.
I quickly realized that I would be running out of space again very soon, and getting yet another memory card was out of question - they were expensive, and constantly switching memory cards would be too much of a hassle. Schematics for building custom replacement cards do exist, but they still only offer a single bank of memory and require a battery... What I wanted, was a multi-bank memory card!

The Project