How to make a sound tracker?

Started by dustboxed727, September 17, 2017, 00:48:03

Previous topic - Next topic

dustboxed727

Recently, I've been quite curious about how I would go about making a simple soundtracker like OpenMPT (not that OpenMPT is, but I'm hoping for mine to start off simple). The main reason I would like to do this is because I am currently in the process of developing a game, and I want some way to make a somewhat tamper-proof file format. While, yes, there might be encryption algorithms for files like this, I am a budding software developer, and I'm a very curious person (isn't every software developer ;D ). I'm currently using Visual Studio 2017, and I'm planning to use C++.

The info I need is: The recommended C++ libraries, how I would make a functional tracker UI, what I need to know before doing this, and, if possible, some code examples to get me started.
There are two kinds of people in this world; ones who are having a stroke and ones who are speaking Dutch.

StarWolf3000

I'm just curious about why'd you want to create your own tracker with your own file formats, when you can use the existing ones which provide everything you need for composing music and in case of OpenMPT even have a playback library (libopenmpt) to be used by external software.

To make sure only your game can access your music files, you could use a not-so-common container format with some sort of encryption.

Saga Musix

I also think that making your own tracker would be completely over-the-top for what you want to achieve - especially since the musician making music for your game would have to learn a new tool, which most people are not willing to do. Of course if you have some revolutionary idea that is not possible with existing tools, you'd have to write your own or adapt an existing tracker.