Author Topic: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"  (Read 269 times)

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
"Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« on: March 18, 2017, 14:18:48 »
Hi there,

All is in title, I think it would be usefull to be able, in right mouse button menu, to "amplify"  xy values in a "Zxy" instruction, for changing expression values the same way as it is possible for the "vxy" volume values.

Currently, the "Amplify" function is grey, for those kind of values.

Cheers

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,094
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 18:55:53 »
Note that for the time being, there is a workaround:
* Make a selection as you would for amplification.
* Ctrl+F (or whatever "Find" is bound to in your configuration)
* Find Effect: Z
* Replace with: Effect Data, choose "* 0%" from the dropdown list to enter an amplification amount.

Find&Replace does not take the differnce between Z00-Z7F and Z80-ZFF into account, so if you amplify more than 100%, you may get values above Z7F.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Re: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2017, 21:50:33 »
I'll check this out, thanks a lot ;-)

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,935
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Re: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 10:29:38 »
Interesting. Maybe a dumb question, but does this also work with Parameter Controls?
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,094
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2017, 11:53:40 »
Trying it out yourself would probably have been quicker than asking the question. ;) The answer is yes, Find/Replace works with normal and PC events.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline RG (aka AUDIOMONSTER)

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Raphaël Gesqua (aka "Audiomonster", back in time)
    • http://www.raphaelgesqua.free.fr
Re: "Amplify" function for "Zxy"
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2017, 15:19:20 »
Works great, thanks again ;-)