Author Topic: bypass the plugin verify?  (Read 3638 times)

Offline 19wichen

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 9
  • Operating System: Widows7 64, OS X Wine 1.8(rc4)
bypass the plugin verify?
« on: September 13, 2016, 01:50:04 »
every time when i launch my MPT, it will verify my plugin. and i have the plugin like FL Studio VSTi, it will takes a lot of time. how can i bypass that?  (sorry for my Chinese style English ;D)
你好!我是一位来自中国深圳的电子音乐爱好者!
Hi! I am a module music lover from Shenzhen China.

Offline Rakib

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Operating System: win7x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2016, 10:10:44 »
I can confirm it also happens on of my my computer.
^^

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2016, 10:21:49 »
This should not happen under normal circumstances - OpenMPT should only check if the plugin exists, but not load it. It may have to load the plugin if there are two copies of an identically-named plugin registered in different paths, e.g. if you have a a plugin C:\foo\bar.dll and another plugin C:\bar.dll - this is about the only situation in which plugins should be scanned during startup. So please verify that there is only one copy of the plugin in OpenMPT's plugin list. If you are not sure if there are identically-named plugins in that list, you can also go to Help -> Show Settings Folder, open mptrack.ini and copy the [VST Plugins] section from that file.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 12:18:55 by Saga Musix »
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline jmkz

  • Workaholic artist
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Gender: Male
    • jmkz Productions
  • Operating System: Windows Server 2012 R2
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2016, 05:12:55 »
On particular circumstances I use same filename, e.g. Synth1 VSTi has 32-bit and 64-bit, and for platform portability plugins are placed as ".\Daichi\Synth1 VSTi\x86\Synth1 VSTi.dll" and ".\Daichi\Synth1 VSTi\x64\Synth1 VSTi.dll" when exist for x86 and x64. The majority of songs need to use this path pattern instead its original filename, so can be loaded on OpenMPT 32/64-bit natively when possible.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2016, 15:02:17 »
In OpenMPT 1.27.00.15 (r7259), the plugin manager should no longer be confused about several plugins sharing the same filename. Note that the plugin cache file had to be restructured for this purpose, so a full rescan of all registered plugins will happen on first start.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2016, 23:53:26 »
So did anyone try this using the latest buildbot versions?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline 19wichen

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 9
  • Operating System: Widows7 64, OS X Wine 1.8(rc4)
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2016, 11:49:16 »
So did anyone try this using the latest buildbot versions?
yes. but it's still love to scan my computer... haha...
maybe it will work on my OS X...
 
你好!我是一位来自中国深圳的电子音乐爱好者!
Hi! I am a module music lover from Shenzhen China.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2016, 13:15:41 »
That's strange. Can you please go to Help -> Show Settings Folder in OpenMPT and then upload the mptrack.ini and plugin.cache files from that directory here (put them in a zip file)? Also, please paste the location of these files (the folder path in Explorer) here.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline 19wichen

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 9
  • Operating System: Widows7 64, OS X Wine 1.8(rc4)
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2016, 04:38:59 »
That's strange. Can you please go to Help -> Show Settings Folder in OpenMPT and then upload the mptrack.ini and plugin.cache files from that directory here (put them in a zip file)? Also, please paste the location of these files (the folder path in Explorer) here.
plugin location:
32bit: D:/VSTplugin
64bit: D:/VSTplugin/Program Files
software: D:/OpenMPTh
你好!我是一位来自中国深圳的电子音乐爱好者!
Hi! I am a module music lover from Shenzhen China.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2016, 12:59:18 »
Please also provide the plugin.cache file that should be found next to mptrack.ini.
D:\OpenMPT is just the path where the OpenMPT executable is located I guess, but the INI file suggests that it is not run in portable mode, so the mptrack.ini location should not be D:\OpenMPT but more something like C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Roaming\OpenMPT. Can you give the full path for that?

EDIT: The mptrack.ini file suggests that you were using OpenMPT 1.26.03.00, which is neither the latest stable version, nor is it the test version I asked you to test. In case you did use the latest test version, then it's the wrong mptrack.ini for some reason.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 14:36:57 by Saga Musix »
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2016, 18:36:11 »
I had the idea that the extended plugin verification time can also be caused by antivirus software.
To verify that, please check:
1) If you run OpenMPT a second time instantly after closing it, does it still take as long to scan the plugins, or is it quicker?
2) If that is not the case (or alternatively, after a reboot), check if disabling your antivirus speeds up the scan process.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline 19wichen

  • Shy artist
  • Posts: 9
  • Operating System: Widows7 64, OS X Wine 1.8(rc4)
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2016, 12:36:37 »
I had the idea that the extended plugin verification time can also be caused by antivirus software.
To verify that, please check:
1) If you run OpenMPT a second time instantly after closing it, does it still take as long to scan the plugins, or is it quicker?
2) If that is not the case (or alternatively, after a reboot), check if disabling your antivirus speeds up the scan process.
Sorry to you for waiting a long time for my reply.
I tried it on my new computer (Windows10 Simplified Chinese 64bit) and the time has shorten to about 3 sec!
Thanks for your help!
你好!我是一位来自中国深圳的电子音乐爱好者!
Hi! I am a module music lover from Shenzhen China.

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2016, 12:40:17 »
Sounds to me like antivirus might indeed have been involved then. If Rakib and jmkz could give some input on that as well, that would be even more reassuring.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Rakib

  • Crazy artist
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Operating System: win7x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2016, 15:02:08 »
Which version to test?
Im using version: 1.26.07.00 32 bit
Source Code:  clean
^^

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,129
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: bypass the plugin verify?
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2016, 15:21:33 »
For the case you have plugins sharing the same filename: r7259 or later from buildbot.
For the general checks to test if antivirus affects the loading time (as explained above): Current stable is okay.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.