OpenMPT and MIDI / Hardware Synthesizers

Started by anodyne777, March 02, 2012, 19:57:53

Previous topic - Next topic

anodyne777

Greetings,

Short introduction:
I'm a producer who usually works in professional environment (Ableton Live and a number of hardware synths), but I got my start with trackers back in the day - beginning with ST3, moving to IT, and the last of which I used regularly (circa 2002) was ModPlug (still love it... nothing is faster than a familiar tracker interface!).  I had to switch to something else with more MIDI routing options and audio recording capabilities, among other things.  But recently I've started a chip music project, and I'm wondering if I can use OpenMPT to:

1) sync MIDI clock between the tracker and outboard devices

2) route note data to MIDI ports

To what extent is it possible to sequence/automate actual hardware via OpenMPT? 

I wasn't able to find very much info on this even after ~15 of looking around, however I did see that some people use a VST device called VST2MID to export note data to physical hardware over available MIDI ports.

Any advice is appreciated... I just want to know if it's worth trying, or not a good idea.  Also, if there is a VST version of OpenMPT, that would be neato. 

Thanks,
Owen G.

anodyne777

Hmm...

Any tips on MIDI and OpenMPT are still most welcome, but I think I may have answered my own questions though more searching (VST2MID is necessary for MIDI output, and if that doesn't do what I want then I'm hosed - I'll have to play around to find out, how it syncs up etc.).

Looks like there is also no OpenMPT Rewire support or a (current) VSTi version of the program, which would've been useful. 

I should have searched longer.

Saga Musix

Welcome!
Quote from: anodyne777 on March 02, 2012, 19:57:53
1) sync MIDI clock between the tracker and outboard devices