Author Topic: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)  (Read 4706 times)

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« on: November 04, 2010, 20:01:11 »
I often need to enter triplets or other tuplets in my tracks, but these are not innate to the ticks-per-row setup of trackers. I'd like to see a Tick Jump setting that allows you to move by ticks when notes are entered or when navigating. When the user enters the first note (presumably quantized to the first tick of the row), the entry pointer moves down the given number of ticks and automatically enters the correct Note Delay amount. This would save me a lot of time calculating the number of ticks within the row to start the triplet note.

When adjusting the Row Jump value, the Tick Jump would also be reset to the correct number of ticks in those rows.

Perhaps a shortcut key toggles between jumping by rows or ticks.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2010, 22:37:56 by Jojo »

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2010, 20:21:05 »
Have you tried working with alternating speed (f.e. A08/A04) or different numbers of rows per beat yet?
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline LPChip

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,949
    • http://lpchip.nl
  • Operating System: Windows 7 (x64bit)
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2010, 20:57:14 »
Indeed. this is much easier to accomplish if you track at a faster speed/tempo.
"Heh, maybe I should've joined the compo only because it would've meant I wouldn't have had to worry about a damn EQ or compressor for a change. " - Atlantis
"yes.. I think in this case it was wishful thinking: MPT is makng my life hard so it must be wrong" - Rewbs

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2010, 20:59:56 »
Just an example how to use alternating speed for triplets:

Code: [Select]
ModPlug Tracker  IT
|C-501...A08|C-502...SB0
|E-501......|...........
|G-501...A04|...........
|...........|........SBF
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2010, 20:39:19 »
Hmm, good idea worth looking at. Won't the change in tick speed affect my tempo? I work in Modern for my classical stuff....

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2010, 21:14:57 »
It wont' work with Modern tempo. You should stick to 6 or 12 RPB in that case.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2010, 21:31:24 »
So if i use Modern tempo mode, i use tick speeds divisible by 3? Then i just multiply (or divide?) the current tick speed by 3 during the time of the triplets? Am i thinking of this right?

Offline Saga Musix

  • OpenMPT Developers
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,197
  • aka Jojo
    • Download music, samples, VST plugins: Saga Musix Website
  • Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2010, 21:35:37 »
The tick speed doesn't matter. The number of rows does. At 12 RPB, you'd get triplets on every 4th row, an 8th on every 6th row and 16ths on every 3rd row.
» No support, bug reports, feature requests via private messages - they will not be answered. Use the forums and the issue tracker so that everyone can benefit from your post.

Offline Harbinger

  • Extreme artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,136
  • Gender: Male
  • Operating System: Windows XP
Re: Tick Jump (detail Row Jump)
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2010, 21:53:52 »
Ok, gotcha. Since there is a rather relatively easy workaround, i'll close this request. Thanks for your help...